Tennessee’s Hand-Held Cell Phone Ban Begins July 1st
I'm sure some of you will be traveling to or through Tennessee this summer, just make sure you have your Bluetooth enabled for your cell phone because the state's hand-held cell phone ban goes into effect July 1st.
This means even if you are at a red light, no more texting, scrolling, and so forth or face the consequences. Violation of the law allows law enforcement to issue citations for $100, the cost increases to $200 if a crash is involved.
Using your phone for navigation purposes will still be allowed, but only if the device is in your cup holder or mounted to your dashboard.
Tennessee led the nation last year in distracted driving deaths.
The question then becomes, "what if I don't have Bluetooth in my car?" HERE are some options to consider and be careful this summer.
What are the laws in your state?
In the state of Kentucky, it is illegal for drivers who are under the age of 18 to use a cell phone while operating a motor vehicle. This includes both hands free and handheld devices. It is illegal for drivers of all ages to text while the vehicle is in motion, which includes instant messaging and emailing.
For most Indiana motorists, there are no restrictions on talking on a cellphone while driving. However, for drivers who are under the age of 21, it is illegal to use a cellphone while operating a vehicle. The only exception to this ban is for making 9-1-1 calls.
More than a dozen new transportation-related laws will go into effect in Illinoisin 2019, including harsher penalties for distracted driving. Beginning July 1, 2019, anyone caught texting behind the wheel will be issued a moving violation, which will go on their driving record.