While several of the biggest 2012 ACM Awards will be handed out April 1 on CBS, others are announced early. For those awards that won’t make the televised time slot — Special Awards, Industry Awards, Musician, Bandleader and Instrumentalist (MBI) and Songwriter of the Year — the Academy of Country Music is hosting its sixth annual ACM Honors event on Sept. 24, 2012, in Nashville.

One of the big names who will be celebrated that night is Kenny Chesney, who will be receiving the Crystal Milestone Award for his remarkable achievements, which include becoming a four-time ACM Entertainer of the Year, selling more than 10,500,000 tickets on 11 national tours, playing sold out shows in huge venues across the country and promoting the country genre to fans while also investing in younger country artists. SWEET!!!

Another country great with an early win  is Alan Jackson, who will walk away with the Jim Reeves International Award, an award that is awarded to an artist for “outstanding contributions to the acceptance of country music throughout the world.” Others who have received this award include Garth Brooks, Dolly Parton, Taylor Swift, Keith Urban and more.

Vince Gill will also be awarded with the Career Achievement Award for advancing the popularity and acceptance of country music through his work in multiple areas of the entertainment industry last year. Others who have taken home this coveted award include Faith Hill, Tim McGraw, Reba McEntire and more.

More From WKDQ-FM