The Country Music Hall of Fame is about to announce its Class of 2017 10AM CT TODAY!

You can watch the live stream of the Class of 2017 with the video below!

Here's a little tidbit on the Country Music Hall of Fame. It was created in 1961 by the Country Music Association, the Country Music Hall of Fame celebrates artists who have made a major impact in country music. In 2017, three new artists will join the Hall's illustrious 130-member roster, which includes some of the biggest names in country music like Garth Brooks, Reba McEntire, Dolly Parton, Merle Haggard, George Strait and Johnny Cash, and more. This year's announcement event will be hosted by another Hall of Famer, and someone who will be making their way to Evansville this month, Vince Gill.

The three new inductees will be ushered into the Country Music Hall of Fame based on three different categories:One Modern Era (eligible for induction 20 years after reaching national prominence) and one Veterans Era (eligible for induction 45 years after first achieving national prominence) artist are selected each year, while the categories of Non-Performer, Songwriter and Recording and / or Touring Musician rotate.

Following the announcement, each soon-to-be Hall of Fame member will give a short speech.The official Country Music Hall of Fame induction ceremony will take place later this year. The Class of 2017 will be the 57th group of country music artists to be inducted into the Hall of Fame.

So that brings us to the big question: Who should be inducted into the Hall of Fame that hasn't been already? You can check out the 10 Artists Who Should Be in the Country Music Hall of Fame.



More From WKDQ-FM